I Wish I Could Remember that First Day: A Tribute to Grace Kelly (Our Cockatiel)

Summer 2012, Grace Kelly, a beautiful Cockatiel joined my roommates and I living in a small apartment in Lincoln, NE. What a blissful, brief time we had spent together. She died in Spring 2013 and we buried her under a big tree in Trago Park. She’s in my mind every time I see a pet bird.

I.
_DSC0740

II.IMG_0224

III.IMG_1061

IV.IMG_1080

V._DSC0769

I wish I could remember that first day,
    First hour, first moment of your meeting me,
    If bright or dim the season, it might be
Summer or Winter for aught I can say;
So unrecorded did it slip away,
    So blind was I to see and to foresee,
    So dull to mark the budding of my tree
That would not blossom yet for many a May.
If only I could recollect it, such
    A day of days! I let it come and go
    As traceless as a thaw of bygone snow;
It seemed to mean so little, meant so much;
If only now I could recall that touch,
    First touch of hand in hand – Did one but know!
-Christina Rossetti, “I Wish I Could Remember that First Day”

Leave a Reply

